currently reading

My latest books, if I ever get a chance to write a review, I will. The short story is that they have been extremely transformative in how I view my parenting and educating:

Raising Your Spirited Child: A Guide for Parents Whose Child Is More Intense, Sensitive, Perceptive, Persistent, Energetic by Mary Sheedy Kurcinka.

Finally, someone who knows my child, and realizes that the standard tricks of the trade DON’T WORK with spirited children!

Your Child’s Growing Mind: Brain Development and Learning From Birth to Adolescence by Jane Healy, PhD.

This has really opened my eyes to the incredible ways that play and motion work with neurological development. Totally tears apart the whole superbaby culture (I am guilty of that sometimes I admit) and pushing kids too early into formal education (mea culpa too on that one, my kid just turned 3 and I tend to over-do it sometimes). If only we realized how much they were learning through play and exploration, we’d hold on to those precious years longer before pushing them out of it! The upshot is that the better they play in the early years (up to about 5/6 or so), the better they will actually learn once they get to the sit-down, formal work.

One thought on “currently reading

  1. Our home school monitor told me that she thinks kids (boys in particular) shouldn’t begin formal school work until 7 or 8. They’re better off learning through play/exploration until then. I thought that that was pretty interesting, coming from a PS teacher of 25+years.

    Like

Leave a Reply

